List of radio stations in Bangladesh

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search

This is a list of radio stations that are legally permitted by the Bangladesh Telecommunication Regulatory Commission.

State-owned radio stations[edit]

Channel Note(s)
Bangladesh Betar (বাংলাদেশ বেতার) a state-owned radio broadcasting station of Bangladesh. Its headquarters are in Agargaon Sher e Bangla Nagar, Dhaka, Bangladesh Betar established during the War of Liberation of Bangladesh in 1971. Then it was known as Shwadin Bangla Betar Kendra, after the independence of Bangladesh it was named as Bangladesh Betar. But in 1975 after the coup d'état the rebels renamed it as Radio Bangladesh and so it continued up to 1996. Bangladesh Awami League came into power in 1996. They returned it to its original name Bangladesh Betar.

Privately owned radio stations[edit]

As of 2015, the Ministry of Information had licensed 28 private organizations for FM broadcasting, and the Bangladesh Telecommunication Regulatory Commission had assigned FM broadcasting spectrum to 25 of them.[1]

Name Area Served FM Frequencies (MHz) STATION WEB
Radio Foorti Dhaka, Chattogram, Sylhet, Mymensingh, Barisal, Rajshahi, Khulna, Cox's Bazar, Noakhali, Bogura 88.0 http://www.radiofoorti.fm/
Radio Aamar Dhaka 88.4 http://radioaamar.com/
Traffic FM Dhaka 88.8
ABC Radio Dhaka, Chittagong, Cox's Bazar 89.2 https://www.abcradio.fm/
Radio Today Dhaka, Chittagong, Cox's Bazar, Khulna, Bogura, Sylhet, Mymensingh, Barishal, Kushtia, Comilla 89.6 https://www.radiotodaybd.fm/
DhakaFM Dhaka,Bogura, Chittagong 90.4 http://dhakafm904.com/
Asian Radio Dhaka 90.8
Radio Dhoni Dhaka 91.2 http://radiodhoni.fm/
Peoples Radio Dhaka 91.6 http://peoplesradio.fm/
Radio Shadhin Dhaka 92.4 https://radioshadhin.fm/
Radio Bhumi Dhaka 92.8 http://www.radiobhumi.fm/
Radio Next Dhaka 93.2
Radio Din-Raat Dhaka 93.6 http://radiodinraat.fm/
Radio Dhol Dhaka 94.0 https://radiodhol.fm/
Jago FM Dhaka 94.4
Capital FM Dhaka 94.8
Bangla Radio Dhaka 95.2
Radio Edge Dhaka 95.6
City FM Dhaka 96.0
Spice FM Dhaka 96.4
Radio CIUS Dhaka 96.8
Times Radio Dhaka 97.2
Desh Radio Dhaka 98.0
Radio 71 Dhaka 98.4
Radio City Dhaka 99.6
Radio Active Dhaka 100.4
Colours FM Dhaka 101.6
Radio Amber Dhaka 102.4

Upcoming radio stations[edit]

As of 2015, the Bangladesh Telecommunication Regulatory Commission was in the process of assigning FM broadcasting spectrum to the remaining three private organizations licensed by the Ministry of Information for FM broadcasting:

Radio Station Frequency
Radio Capital FM
Radio Masti FM
Gold FM FM

Community radio in Bangladesh[edit]

The Bangladesh NGOs Network for Radio and Communication (BNNRC), in special consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council, considers community radio a special area for intervention. BNNRC has been promoting advocacy to the government in relation to community radio with other organizations since its emergence in 2000. As a result, the Ministry of Information of the People's Republic of Bangladesh announced the Community Radio Installation, Broadcast and Operation Policy 2008. Under this policy, the Ministry of Information approved 16 community radio stations for the first time in Bangladeshi history. To ensure the free flow of information to the people, the government enacted the Right to Information Act 2009. Community radio stations are a strong step in empowering rural people. Initially, the government approved 16 community groups:

Name Area Served Frequencies
1 Radio Meghna COAST Trust,Chorfasson, Bhola Island (Bhola District) 99.0
2 Radio Bikrampur EC Bangladesh (Munshiganj) 99.2
3 Chilmari Kurigram 99.2
4 Radio Jhinuk Srizoni (Jhinaidhah) 99.2
5 Radio Mukti Bogra 99.2
6 Borendro Radio Wkilpara, Nawga 99.2
7 Radio Naf Teknaf,Cox's Bazar 99.2
8 Radio Nalta Nalta Community Hospital in Satkhira 99.2
9 Lokobetar Barguna Sadar Upazila 99.2
10 Radio Padma Rajshahi 99.2
11 Pollikontho Moulivi Bazer 99.2
12 Radio Mahananda Chapai Nababgonj 99.8
13 Krishi Radio Amtoli, Barguna District 98.8
14 Sagar Dheep DUS Hatiya Island - Noakhali District 98.8
15 Sagor Giri Sitakunda, Chittagong 99.2
16 Sarabela Radhakrishnapur College Road, Gaibandha 98.8
17 Radio Boral Baga, Rajsahi 99.0
18 Radio Sundarban Koyra Upazila - Khulna 98.8

Online Radio in Bangladesh[edit]

Name Area Served Frequencies STATION WEB
RadioBaksho Media Limited National ONLINE HD https://radiobaksho.com/
Radio Gaan Baksho Bangladesh & Australia ONLINE HD https://gaanbaksho.com.au/
Radio Matrika National (Online Based Radio) ONLINE HD https://radiomatrika.com/

See also[edit]

References[edit]

  1. ^ "Annual Report 2014-2015". Bangladesh Telecommunication Regulatory Commission. February 2016.

External links[edit]