Univision Deportes Radio

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Univision Deportes Radio
TypeRadio network
Country
AvailabilityNational, but Not Available in All Areas
TuneIn
Sirius XM (Channel 467)
OwnerUnivision Communications
ParentUforia Audio Network
Launch date
March 15, 2017; 2 years ago (2017-03-15)
WebcastListen Live
Official website
www.univision.com/deportes
ReplacedUnivision America

Univision Deportes Radio is a Spanish-language sports radio network in the United States under the division of Univision Deportes, owned by Univision Communications and is a companion to the current Univision Deportes Network. It launched on March 15, 2017 on ten AM and FM radio stations, most of which previously affiliated with the ill-fated Univision America until its 2015 closure. The network features stations in the states of Arizona, California, Texas, Illinois, Nevada, New York and Florida, covering half of the country's Hispanic population.

While its main focus is on soccer (much like its TV counterparts Univision Deportes, Univision and UniMás, and digital brands), Univision Deportes Radio competes against ESPN Deportes Radio, owned by ESPN Inc., which has 40 stations in 14 states.[1]

Programming[edit]

At the launch of the network, its programming lineup consists of mainly radio versions of select Univision Deportes Network shows, such as Locura Deportiva (which was originally broadcast on Univision América) Contacto Deportivo and Fútbol Club as well as original programming including Buenos Días América, El Tiradero and Tribuna Interactiva.

The network also broadcasts select Liga MX, La Liga, Ligue 1, Primeira Liga and Serie A soccer matches.

Programs[edit]

  • Buenos dias América : Mon-Fri 6 am ET / 5 am CT.
  • El Tiradero : Mon-Fri 10 am ET / 9 am CT.
  • Acción Centroamérica : Mon-Fri 1 pm ET / 12 pm CT.
  • Contacto Deportivo : Mon-Fri 2 pm ET / 1 pm CT.
  • La Porra : Mondays 4 pm ET / 3 pm CT.
  • Regiolandia : Wednesdays 4 pm ET / 3 pm CT.
  • Zona NFL : Tue-Fri 4 pm ET / 3 pm CT.
  • El Vestidor : Mon-Fri 5 pm ET / 4 pm CT.
  • Locura Deportiva : Mon-Fri 6 pm ET / 5 pm CT.
  • Fútbol Club : Mon-Fri 7 pm ET / 6 pm CT.
  • Tribuna Interactiva : Mon-Fri 9 pm ET / 8 pm CT.
  • El Pulso del Deporte : 11 pm ET / 10 pm CT.

Saturday and Sunday[edit]

Consists of all day programming of football matches on Saturdays and partly on Sundays.

  • Auto Manía : Saturday 9 am ET / 8 am CT.
  • Tribuna Interactiva Saturday Edition  : Saturday 10 am ET / 9 am CT.
  • Fútbol de las Estrellas : Saturday 11 am ET / 10 am CT.
  • Aquí entre nos : Saturday 12 pm ET / 11 am CT.
  • Desde el diamante : Sunday 10 am ET / 9 am CT.

Local sports[edit]

Stations air games from local professional teams, including the Los Angeles Dodgers, Chicago Cubs, Chicago White Sox, New York Yankees, Arizona Diamondbacks and the Texas Rangers of the Major League Baseball; the FC Dallas, Houston Dynamo, Chicago Fire of the Major League Soccer; the Chicago Bulls, Phoenix Suns and Dallas Mavericks of the National Basketball Association; the Chicago Bears and Arizona Cardinals of the National Football League, and the Chicago Blackhawks and the Los Angeles Kings of the National Hockey League.[2]

On-air talent[edit]

  • Juan Carlos Ávalos
  • María Fernanda Alonso
  • Leslie Soltero
  • Gabriel Sainz
  • Diego Peña
  • Luis Manuel Gómez Luna
  • Gustavo Rivadeneira
  • Julio César Quintanilla
  • Antonio Murillo
  • Miguel Ángel Mendez
  • Luis Quiñones
  • Reinaldo Navia
  • Javier Ledesma
  • Ramón Morales
  • Pedro Antonio Flores
  • Marcelo Salazar
  • Katya Mercader
  • Ernesto Tadeo Quijas

Affiliates[edit]

All affiliates are owned and operated by Univision's Uforia Audio Network unless otherwise noted.

Arizona[edit]

California[edit]

Florida[edit]

Illinois[edit]

Nevada[edit]

New York[edit]

Texas[edit]

Former Affiliates[edit]

See also[edit]

References[edit]

  1. ^ Univision To Launch Univision Deportes Radio - Radio Insight (published December 20, 2016)
  2. ^ Univision Deportes Hits the Radio Waves - Univision PR, 19 April 2017