The Story of Ethan Allen (1738-1789)

About the Governors

The chronological order of the governors of New York as they pertain to this paper are as follows:
  1. Clinton
  2. Colden
  3. Moore
  4. Colden
  5. Dunmore
Colden was an acting Governor, or an official who would take over the governor's responsibilities while a new governor came to the colonies from England. Due to the long ship ride, it was necessary to have the acting Governor. Today, the Lieutenant Governor of each state has the same responsibilities.